Daily Archives: October 5, 2011

Writing Tips Wednesday – Write, the NaNoWriMo way!

Every Wednesday I’ll be sharing some hints and tips about how to improve your writing. These are basic things I have learned over the years, from writers websites, published authors and constructive feedback from friends, family and online pals.

There is an argument that fiction writing cannot be taught because it comes from talent alone, it is in your nature to be creative. Whilst there is some truth in that, even the most creative person needs to learn how to use their ability and make the best of their craft.

This week: Write your heart out & drown your inner Doubt Demon!

This weeks topic is all about writing with verve, spunk, guts, determination, rage, courage and above all passion! At the start of November National Novel Writing Month – NaNoWriMo – will be unleashed across the interweb. I say unleashed because it is akin to opening the flood gates and letting a torrent wordy goodness pour across the arid plains of your Word Desert. Not only will this event let you cultivate a lush crop of fictional treats but also drown your Doubt Demon. Be gone foul pest!

There is a line on the NaNoWriMo website that is very apt for my topic:

“The reasons are endless! To actively participate in one of our era’s most enchanting art forms! To write without having to obsess over quality. To be able to make obscure references to passages from our novels at parties. To be able to mock real novelists who dawdle on and on, taking far longer than 30 days to produce their work.”

Did you see the bit where it says: To write without having to obsess over quality.

That’s what should appeal to you all – write without fear of checking quality, without worrying whether it makes sense, just write what’s in your heart. It matters not one iota that you don’t think you’re up to the challenge, take a look at this list and see how many of these you can put a tick beside.

  • #1 I’m not a real writer. I just blog. I can’t write an actual story.
  • #2 But 50,000 words in 1 month, that’s just insane. I can’t do that.
  • #3 I don’t know where to start.
  • #4 I’ll probably start but there’s no chance I’ll finish, so why bother?
  • #5 I’m too busy with my blog and other commitments.
  • #6 This is for die-hard writers, not amateurs like me.
  • #7 It’s all too much, I don’t have a hope in hell of competing with seasoned Wrimo’s.
  • #8 I find it hard to get started or lose my way after a while, maybe fiction writing isn’t for me.
  • #9 I don’t have anything to write about. My life isn’t filled with endless adventures like some people.
  • #10 Writing is a lonely thing. I don’t have anyone to support me. Sigh.

How well did you score? Did you tick some or most or all? Never fear, I have solutions for each item on the list! If you’re reading this, dear blog reader, chances are you are a writer, you just don’t realise it. Let’s crack on and face our fears shall we?

Read the rest of this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,320 other followers