Daily Archives: October 23, 2011

NaNoWriMo – Preparation Tips

PanicCountdown: 8 Days 2 Hours.

“But yesterday there was a month to go! I haven’t planned a thing yet! I planned to do some planning but it hasn’t gone…er, to plan. I haven’t written an outline or a character sheet. I think I have an idea for a story but will it stretch to 50,000 words? And there’s only a week to go before it starts! Aaargh!”

Calm down fellow Wrimo! Take a deep breath. Relax. In and out. Okay. It’s not as bad as you think. There’s still plenty of time to get prepared for the crazy month of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month.) You don’t need to freak out before you get started, save those for the last week of the challenge. There’s no problem here that can’t be sorted out. In fact you shouldn’t call it a problem.

Don’t say: “I’ve found a problem.”

Say: “I’ve found a challenge.”

Doesn’t that sound better? You know it makes sense. I have some handy tips on how to prepare for NaNo so you can waltz into that first week with a grin on your face and a keyboard that sings to your merry tune. Let’s look at your preparation options.

Read the rest of this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,253 other followers